This Week's MSC Online Events

Updated: Apr 28

If you are looking for some coach education events to watch and participate in this week, we have a number of opportunities available. All the events below are also conducted in an interactive format. Coaches can listen to either an initial interview or presentation with the guest, then they will have the opportunity to submit questions themselves. Each webinar will last for one hour each and you can register for each one separately on the links below.


All registrants will receive an emailed copy of the webinar if you miss the live event.


Monday, April 27:


11am EST (4pm UK time) Jim Magilton on Preparing Players for the Professional Game

We are teaming up again with North American Irish Coaches to bring you another interview, this time with elite performance director with the Irish Football Association, Jim Magilton. He will discuss his youth experience at Liverpool, and his playing career in the Premier League. Jim will also talk about his experiences on the management side of the game with Ipswich Town and Queens Park Rangers, as well as his time in Australia with Melbourne Victory. (You can register here)




Wednesday, April 29:


12pm EST (5pm UK time) Lloyd Yaxley on Periodization Approach to Goalkeeping


Professional GK Coach at Orlando Pride (NWSL) Lloyd Yaxley joins us to present on building a periodized program for an elite goalkeeper over the course of a season. What should weekly sessions look like? How do you taper training to prepare for games? What should the match day warm-up take into account? Lloyd will discuss all of those areas and will also take questions from the coaches in attendance. (You can register here)




Thursday, April 30:


1pm EST (5pm UK time) Dean Austin on Assistant Coach and Head Coach Relationship


Former Tottenham Hotspur defender Dean Austin joins us to discuss the challenges of the relationship between a head coach and an assistant. He has experienced both roles as head coach of Northampton and assistant at Watford, and shares his insights on how best to deal with both roles. (You can register here)




Friday, May 1:


1pm EST (6pm UK time) Live Interview and Q&A with Terry Connor


Another live event with North American Irish Coaches, this time with former Republic of Ireland and Wolves coach, Terry Connor. He will discuss his experiences in the Premier League, the challenges of international football, and give an insight into his own journey in the game. (You can register here)




3pm EST (9pm UK time) MSC Remote Pressing Workshop


In this Remote Workshop, we will take an in-depth look at how pressing can be broken down, analyzed and then worked on in an elite environment. Gary Curneen talks coaches through his own processes including:


- Different pressing systems

- Coaching triggers and cues

- Creating training sessions

- Leadership Styles


As with all MSC Remote Workshops, we will limit the numbers so coaches can get the best experience in terms of questions and discussions.

You can register here



Our goal is to provide the coaching community with as much daily content as possible in these times of uncertainty. If you would like to support Modern Soccer Coach, please go to our shop and order one of our books. Coaches can get 40% off every order by using the code MSCSPECIAL at checkout. Thank you!

1,098 views
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

2018 by Modern Soccer Coach LLC.